Individuals Recognised for Excellence in Tourism

22 June 2022

Three individuals have been recognised for their outstanding contribution to the tourism industry at tonight’s Perth Airport WA Tourism Conference dinner.

The FACET Golden Guide Award winner was announced as Jamie Van Jones from Salt and Bush Eco Tours. Recognised for her passion and enthusiasm in creating memorable guest experiences, Jamie was applauded by the judges for encouraging visitors to immerse themselves in nature and appreciate the local environment.

The Individual Excellence in Aboriginal Tourism Award was awarded to Rosanna Angus from Oolin Sunday Island Cultural Tours, who impressed judges with her contribution to the public’s understanding of Aboriginal culture. Rosanna was recognised for her innovative leadership skills, particularly her focus on supporting and inspiring Aboriginal women.

Frances Pollock from Wooleen Station won the Individual Excellence in Customer Service Award, and was recognised for being a wonderful ambassador for the tourism industry. The judges praised Frances’ considered and friendly customer service journey that sees guests experience a personalised and authentic homestead experience.

“The Western Australian tourism industry is made possible thanks to the passionate people who tirelessly work towards showcasing WA to visitors,” Tourism Council WA Chief Executive Officer Evan Hall said.

“The individual awards provided an opportunity for three of these people to be recognised for their commitment to creating innovative and friendly experiences to Western Australia’s visitors,” he said.

The finalists in each category were:

FACET Golden Guide Award Finalists

  • Jacqueline Bullard – Busselton Jetty
  • Belinda McCawley – Mindful in Nature
  • Jamie Van Jones – Salt and Bush Eco Tours

Individual Excellence in Aboriginal Tourism Finalist

  • Rosanna Angus – Oolin Sunday Island Cultural Tours

Individual Excellence in Customer Service Finalists

  • Scott Alderson – Crown Perth
  • Nic Chirico – SurfPoint Resort
  • Jodie Cripps – HeliSpirit
  • Sharon Edward – Donnelly River Village
  • Tracy Lindsey – Off the Beaten Track WA
  • Frances Pollock – Wooleen Station